History of the Theater
The Falls Theater opened in 1924 with a seating capacity of 1,000. It was one of three theaters on Front St. in Cuyahoga Falls. During the 1920’s only silent movies were shown, however in 1928 the theater had “talkies” installed which allowed for audio to be heard inside the theater. In 1962 Cinerama was added which played movies from three different projectors giving viewers a whole new experience. To make room for the new technology the seating capacity was lowered to 680. In May of 1978, Loew’s, which owned the theater donated it to the City of Cuyahoga Falls, it was then leased on a month to month basis and played first run movies and matinees on Saturdays. In 1987-88 the city invested in the building to upgrade the facade and installed a new roof. The Falls Theater closed in 1990 and has not been in use since.